It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Advertising and Public Relations: Start Here
Library resources to support research in learning in the area of advertising and public relations.
Indexes business journals worldwide; covers marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, economics and more. Also includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1886 to present. Updated daily.
Mintel reports provide market information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles and leisure. Industries covered include airlines, automotive, beauty and personal products, apparel, food and food service, health and wellness, technology, and retailing. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles.
Access Instructions: Please accept the terms and conditions before clicking through to the Mintel homepage. First time users must create a profile using your university email address before downloading reports.
Simmons Insights, formerly Simmons OneView, contains data from the National Consumer study, an annual survey of U.S. consumers' buying and media habits. Use to create customized reports of the data. The most recent data available is three years old.
Access is limited to 15 simultaneous users. Access requires Adobe Flash.
Hello! This is a guide to resources selected by the Department of Advertising and Public Relations that will support your research throughout your time in the program. If you need any assistance, please reach out to me!
Also, these resources are quite extensive. We asked the library to provide a quote for their value to you as a student. The library cannot provide exact numbers (due to contract stipulations), but our head of acquisitions provided this information: "University Libraries provides unlimited site license access to online resources for all users affiliated with The University of Alabama. In most cases, licensing includes access for all users both on and off campus. In addition to the rich content available in the databases highlighted [in this guide], the library also provides access to a large number of general search databases as well as to print resources and streaming media. The highlighted resources represent a cost of over $450,000 per year which provides unlimited access to faculty and students. The library monitors usage and works directly with faculty to ensure that the content is meeting the teaching and research mission of the university. Armed with usage data and other key metrics the library works individually and with partner institutions to negotiate pricing and licensing to ensure good stewardship of university funds."