Research Data and Geographic Information Services Librarian
Databases
Recommended Databases For Initial Searching
Major geoscience databases which provide access to journal articles, books, and other resources. Includes comprehensive GeoRef database.
This database covers reports and thematic maps. Contains more than 100,000 USGS bibliographic citations, including numbered series beginning as early as 1880.
Database for several interdisciplinary citation indexes including the Science Citation Index. Many full-text references available.
Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web sources. Scopus covers 18,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, and medicine.
A search engine used to find open source scholarly publications found in Institutional Repositories (IRs). Many IRs are operated and managed by academic institutions. Most are full-text.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, some abstracts, and many full texts for dissertations and theses ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Includes documents written at The University of Alabama.
OnePetro.org is a multi-society digital library that provides access to a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
A tool for finding publications from over 40 publishers and societies, including AAPG.
NTIS (The National Technical Information Service) is the premier database for accessing unclassified reports from influential U.S. and international government agencies. The database contains access to millions of critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.
SciFinder Scholar provides access to: Chemical Abstracts (articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, and more; 1907-present); the Registry Database (registry numbers and names of chemical substances; 1957-present); and the CASREACT database (reaction searching; 1985-present). Also included is access to CHEMCATS (commercial sources for purchasing chemicals), CHEMLIST (regulated chemical information), and the SciFinder PatentPak plugin. PatentPak provides access to full text patents and indexed substance information within the patent.
Special login Instructions: If you are a first-time user you must create an account HERE. Note: In your contact information, your name (First Name; Last Name) should be the same as those in your University registration. Your email should be your Crimson or Bama email account. Instructions for SciFinder registration are HERE. If you are already a registered user of SciFinder Web, click here to login.
Includes GSA journals, memoirs, special papers and more.
Includes GSA meeting papers and activities.
Other Databases For Further Searching
Elsevier published content including access to a large variety of scientific articles, eBooks, and reference sources.
Springer published content including access to a large variety of scientific articles, eBooks, and reference sources.
Wiley published content including access to a large variety of scientific articles, eBooks, and reference sources.
This database covers the literature of geographic information systems. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports.
This tool facilitates finding more than 300,000 maps, cross sections, charts, figures, and tables.
Many of the reports in this database are included in USGS Publications Warehouse listed above.
Finding Specific Journals
Availability From The University of Alabama Libraries
Check the Electronic Journals Page first to find a specific journal title and determine if The University of Alabama provides electronic access.
If a journal is not available electronically, use our Classic Catalog search engine to determine if the The University of Alabama has a print copy of the journal (limit search results to Journal Title).
Availability From Other Libraries
If The University of Alabama Libraries does not provide local access to the journal you are looking for, use our ILL (interlibrary loan service) to request article(s) from another library. This service is free. Expect the article to arrive within a few days.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.