Research Data and Geographic Information Librarian
Brittany Waltemate
She/Her
Contact:
110 Bruno Business Library
(205) 349-1096
Subjects: Geology & Geography, Research Data Services
Print Books: 0 votes (0%)
E-Books: 0 votes (0%)
Either is fine: 0 votes (0%)
It depends: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0
E-Books
The e-book collection at the UA Libraries has expanded over the last few years to include many geoscience and STEM titles.
Search Our Online Collection
Scout
This is the University of Alabama's main discovery system allowing you to search hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our catalog, ebooks, videos, news, and more!
- GeoScienceWorld eBooks Collection This link opens in a new windowGeoScienceWorld ebooks collection is comprised of books dedicated to the study of the earth sciences. Coverage: 1926-present
Publisher-Specific Databases
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a collection of databases covering various subject areas and directed at various age groups. Includes full text of newspapers and encyclopedias, ebooks and various images, pamphlets, and brochures.
- Harvard University Press eBooks This link opens in a new windowElectronic books from Harvard University Press covering a wide range of academic topics.
- MIT Press Direct Ebooks This link opens in a new windowMIT Press Direct offers a collection of ebooks on a wide variety of subject areas including art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
- Springer eBooks This link opens in a new windowSpringer's platform for ebooks covering a wide range of topics in the sciences.
- Taylor & Francis eBook Collections This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis eBooks is an extensive collection of eBooks with multiple imprints in STEM, the humanities, and social sciences. The University of Alabama's access includes over 100,000 eBooks, including Routledge publications and other publisher imprints made available by Taylor & Francis.
UA does not subscribe to all titles for this publisher. Please contact a librarian to request access to unsubscribed titles. - Wiley Online Books This link opens in a new windowWiley Online Books hosts a large and deep multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
New Geology E-Books
Click the i button to see the book's description.
If the Scout record does not include a working link, you may have to search the database listed on the UA Library Website.
Advances in Petroleum Source Rock Characterizations: Integrated Methods and Case Studies by
This book is directed to those who are interested in petroleum geology, especially source rock from both academia and industrial societies. Our chapter-based book is written by a list of world-class subject-matter experts. The book includes recent advancements in analytical source rock characterization methods with some case studies. It is also used as part of a course curriculum or guide for source rock interpretation for all researcher categories. Significant improvement in the source rock characterization techniques in the last two decades and the knowledge is disseminated in a huge amount of papers and studies. The book intends to collect these recent advancements in one textbook to benefit students and researchers in general. In addition, it is supplemented by many case studies from all over the world that represent important data sets for the regional geology of these areas.
ISBN: 9783031163951Publication Date: 2022-12-06
Archean Evolution of the Pilbara Craton and Fortescue Basin by
One of today's major geoscientific controversies centres on the origin of the Archean granite‒greenstone terranes. Is the geology of these scattered remnants of our planet's early crust consistent with the theory that modern-style plate-tectonic processes operated from the early Archean, or does it indicate that tectonic and magmatic processes were different in the Archean? Earth has clearly evolved since its initial formation, so at what stage did its processes of crustal growth first resemble those of today? The logical place to seek answers to these intriguing and important questions is within the best-preserved early Archean crust. The Pilbara region of northwest Australia is internationally famous for its abundant and exceptionally well-preserved fossil evidence of early life. However, until recently the area has received much less recognition for the key evidence it provides on early Archean crustal evolution. This book presents and interprets this evidence through a new stage-by-stage account of the development of the Pilbara's geological record between 3.53 and 2.63 Ga. The Archean Pilbara crust represents one fragment of Earth's oldest known supercontinent Vaalbara, which also included the Kaapvaal Craton of southern Africa. Recognition of Vaalbara expands the background database for both these areas, allowing us to more fully understand each of them.
ISBN: 9783031180057Publication Date: 2023-03-10
Atlas of Structural Geological and Geomorphological Interpretation of Remote Sensing Images by
ATLAS OF STRUCTURAL GEOLOGICAL AND GEOMORPHOLOGICAL INTERPRETATION OF REMOTE SENSING IMAGES An extensive compilation of case studies in structural geology and geomorphology for interpreting remotely sensed images In the Atlas of Structural Geological and Geomorphological Interpretation of Remote Sensing Images, a team of experts delivers an extensive collection of over 20 different examples of structural geological and geomorphological studies by remote sensing. The book demonstrates how to properly interpret geological features and gather robust and reliable information from remote sensing images. This atlas contains high-quality colour images that depict a diversity of structures and geomorphic features from different tectonic regimes and geographic localities in the Americas, Europe, and Australasia. While its primary emphasis is on structural geology, geomorphology is considered in some depth as well. The examples also cover geological hazards, including volcanic eruptions and earthquakes. Readers will also find: A thorough introduction to the background of remote sensing, including foundational concepts and the classification of remote sensing based on data type, source, platform and imaging media Comprehensive discussions of geomorphology, including explorations of lava fissures, badlands and beaches In-depth explorations of structural geology, including discussions of deformation bands, fault lines and earthquake effects Several examples of how to trace hydrological processes such as glacier retreat, changes in drainage patterns and bar formation Perfect for advanced students and researchers in the geoscience community, Atlas of Structural Geological and Geomorphological Interpretation of Remote Sensing Images will also earn a place in the libraries of practicing professionals with an interest in the interpretation of remote sensing images.
ISBN: 9781119813354Publication Date: 2022-10-17
Big Data Analytics in Earth, Atmospheric, and Ocean Sciences by
Applying tools for data analysis to the rapidly increasing volume of data about the Earth An ever-increasing volume of Earth data is being gathered. These data are "big" not only in size but also in their complexity, different formats, and varied scientific disciplines. As such, big data are disrupting traditional research. New methods and platforms, such as the cloud, are tackling these new challenges. Big Data Analytics in Earth, Atmospheric, and Ocean Sciences explores new tools for the analysis and display of the rapidly increasing volume of data about the Earth. Volume highlights include: An introduction to the breadth of big earth data analytics Architectures developed to support big earth data analytics Different analysis and statistical methods for big earth data Current applications of analytics to Earth science data Challenges to fully implementing big data analytics The American Geophysical Union promotes discovery in Earth and space science for the benefit of humanity. Its publications disseminate scientific knowledge and provide resources for researchers, students, and professionals. Find out more in this Q&A with the editors.
ISBN: 9781119467571Publication Date: 2022-11-08
Corrosion of Buried Steel at New and in-Service Infrastructure by
Steel is a common component of U.S. infrastructure, but that steel can corrode when buried in soil, rock, or fill. Steel corrosion is estimated to cost the United States 3-4 percent of its gross domestic product every year, and it can lead to infrastructure failure, loss of lives, property, disruption of energy and transportation systems, and damage to the environment. Although the mechanisms of steel corrosion are well understood, limited data on subsurface corrosion and the inability to measure corrosivity directly make accurate corrosion prediction through modeling a challenge. When hazardous levels of corrosion does occur, it is difficult to determine whether the cause was related to site selection, engineering decisions, changes in subsurface conditions, or a combination of these factors. This report explores the state of knowledge and technical issues regarding the corrosion of steel used for earth applications (e.g., for ground stabilization, pipelines, and infrastructure foundations) in unconsolidated earth or rock in different geologic settings. The report summarizes mechanisms of steel corrosion, assesses the state of practice for characterizing factors in the subsurface environment that influence corrosion and corrosion rates, and assesses the efficacy and uncertainties associated with quantitative, field, and laboratory methods for predicting corrosion. The industries and experts most involved with managing buried steel should collaborate to improve multidisciplinary understanding of the processes that drive buried steel corrosion. Developing a common lexicon related to buried steel corrosion, generating new data on corrosion through collaborative long-term experiments, sharing and managing data, and developing new data analytical techniques to inform infrastructure design, construction, and management decisions are key. Industries, experts, and regulators should collaboratively develop decision support systems that guide site characterization and help manage risk. These systems and new data should undergird a common clearinghouse for data on corrosion of buried steel, which will ultimately inform better and more efficient management of buried steel infrastructure, and protect safety and the environment.
ISBN: 9780309692670Publication Date: 2023-03-24
Ecologies of a Storied Planet in the Anthropocene by
A more-than-human approach to planetary survival, from a leading environmental humanist. Ecologies of a Storied Planet in the Anthropocene is a tour de force. With transdisciplinarity and theoretical lucidity, it rethinks the Anthropocene from a material ecocritical perspective, envisioning innovative modes of knowledge for deeper understandings of Anthropocene ecologies. Focusing on nonhuman agencies, Serpil Oppermann shows in fascinating detail how to better imagine an ecological future on our storied planet that has suffered enormously from an anthropocentric mindset.
ISBN: 9781952271625Publication Date: 2023-03-01
Engineering Geophysics by
Engineering Geophysics connects onshore geotechnical engineering challenges to the geophysical methods which may be applied to solve them. Unknown geological conditions are a risk in construction projects, geophysical information can help to identify those risks. The book answers questions on how, why and when the individual and combined methods provide the results requested. Flowcharts guide the reader to geophysical methods that can be applied for various engineering challenges, and the solutions are illustrated with practical case histories. The book is intended mainly for geotechnical engineers and geologists, but also for geophysicists or managers in need of an overview or brush up on geophysical methods and their practical applications. In addition, it can be used by educational institutions in courses both for geotechnical engineers and geologists.
ISBN: 9781003184676Publication Date: 2022-11-30
Fluid-Solid Interactions in Upstream Oil and Gas Applications by
Fluid-Solid Interactions in Upstream Oil and Gas Applications, Volume 78 delivers comprehensive understanding of fluid-rock interactions in oil and gas reservoirs and their impact on drilling, production, and reservoir hydrocarbon management. The book is arranged based on intervals of the oil and gas production process and introduces the basics of reservoir fluids and their properties, along with the rheological behavior of solid-fluid systems across all stages of the reservoir, including drilling processes, acidizing, and fracking. The reference then addresses different application-specific issues, such as solid-fluid interactions in tight reservoirs, the applications of nanoparticles, interactions during the EOR processes, and environmental concerns.
ISBN: 9780323992855Publication Date: 2023-01-18
Geological Background of Sandstone-Type Uranium Deposits in Ordos Basin, Northwest China by
This book introduces the geological background of sandstone-type uranium deposits in the Ordos Basin, Northwest China. Through comparative study of a large number of practical data such as uranium, coal and oil boreholes, the research system takes sedimentary basin as a unit and fully utilizes geological principles and test analysis to study the basic geological, geophysical, geochemical and remote sensing image characteristics of the basin, and to restores the favorable uranium-forming geological background brought by the change of the cognitive sedimentary environment conditions. It can be used as a reference for researchers, practitioners and as well as teachers and graduate students working in uranium deposit geology, sedimentary geology and related areas
ISBN: 9789811960277Publication Date: 2023-03-18
Introduction to Geological Uncertainty Management in Reservoir Characterization and Optimization by
This book explores methods for managing uncertainty in reservoir characterization and optimization. It covers the fundamentals, challenges, and solutions to tackle the challenges made by geological uncertainty. The first chapter discusses types and sources of uncertainty and the challenges in different phases of reservoir management, along with general methods to manage it. The second chapter focuses on geological uncertainty, explaining its impact on field development and methods to handle it using prior information, seismic and petrophysical data, and geological parametrization. The third chapter deals with reducing geological uncertainty through history matching and the various methods used, including closed-loop management, ensemble assimilation, and stochastic optimization. The fourth chapter presents dimensionality reduction methods to tackle high-dimensional geological realizations. The fifth chapter covers field development optimization using robust optimization, including solutions for its challenges such as high computational cost and risk attitudes. The final chapter introduces different types of proxy models in history matching and robust optimization, discussing their pros and cons, and applications. The book will be of interest to researchers and professors, geologists and professionals in oil and gas production and exploration.
ISBN: 9783031280788Publication Date: 2023-04-09
Landslides: Detection, Prediction and Monitoring : Technological Developments by
This book intends to decipher the knowledge in the advancement of understanding, detecting, predicting, and monitoring landslides. The number of massive landslides and the damages they cause has increased across the globe in recent times. It is one of the most devastating natural hazards that cause widespread damage to habitat on a local, regional, and global scale. International experts provide their experience in landslide research and practice to help stakeholders mitigate and predict potential landslides. The book comprises chapters on: Dynamics, mechanisms, and processes of landslides; Geological, geotechnical, hydrological, and geophysical modelling for landslides; Mapping and assessment of hazard, vulnerability, and risk associated with landslides; Monitoring and early warning of landslides; Application of remote sensing and GIS techniques in monitoring and assessment of landslides. The book will be of interest to researchers, practitioners, and decision-makers in adapting suitable modern techniques for landslide study.
ISBN: 9783031238611
Medical Geology by
Medical Geology The key to understanding the relationship between the geological environment and human health Medical geology deals with of the impact of environmental factors on the health of individual human beings and communities. In particular, it studies environmental exposure to both macro- and micronutrients in the geosphere, hydrosphere, and atmosphere--respectively, soil, water, and airborne dust--which may positively or negatively impact human growth, development, and overall health. The insights contributed by this burgeoning field can aid not only in individual medical cases, but also in assessing disproportionately impacted communities and addressing global medical inequality. Medical Geology: En route to One Health is among the first books to address this vital subject by summarizing recent research in this field. It also serves as an introduction to the multidisciplinary One Health methodology, which unites medical, geological, and environmental insights in one continuous approach to public health. Medical Geology readers will also find: An explanation of the influence of the environment on nutrient availability Case studies of well-documented links between endemic diseases and environmental conditions A systematic analysis of the causes of essential element deficiencies in different world regions Medical Geology is an essential overview of the field, for advanced students as well as medical, environmental, or geological researchers who wish to understand the complex relationship between the geological environment and human health.
ISBN: 9781119867340Publication Date: 2023-03-08
The Potential Impacts of Gold Mining in Virginia by
Virginia was one of the first major gold-producing states in the U.S., but it has seen only limited and intermittent gold mining activity in the last 70 years. Recent increase in gold prices and other factors have brought renewed attention to mining gold at both new and historical sites in Virginia. This report provides an evaluation of the gold deposits in Virginia, the probable modern mining techniques that could be used at such deposits, and whether existing regulations in the Commonwealth are sufficient to protect air and water quality and human health from potential impacts of gold mining activities. The report concludes that the regulatory framework of Virginia appears to have been designed for operations like crushed stone quarrying and sand and gravel operations, not gold mining. Thus, the current regulatory framework is not adequate to address the potential impacts of commercial gold mining and lacks an adequate financial assurance system, which poses a fiscal and environmental risk to the Commonwealth. Additionally, Virginia lacks opportunities for the public to be engaged in permitting processes and a modern system for review of environmental impacts from potential gold mining projects.
ISBN: 9780309691215Publication Date: 2023-04-16
Sand, Science, and the Civil War by
The influence of sedimentary geology on the strategy, combat, and tactics of the American Civil War is a subject that has been neglected by military historians. Sedimentary geology influenced everything from the nature of the landscape (flat vs. rolling terrain) to the effectiveness of the weapons (a single grain of sand can render a rifle musket as useless as a club). Sand, Science, and the Civil War investigates the role of sedimentary geology on the campaigns and battles of the Civil War on multiple scales, with a special emphasis on the fighting along the coastlines. At the start of the Civil War the massive brick citadels guarding key coastal harbors and shipyards were thought to be invincible to artillery attack. The Union bombardment of Savannah's key defensive fortification, Fort Pulaski, demonstrated the vulnerability of this type of fortress to the new rifled artillery available to the Union; Fort Pulaski surrendered within a day. When the Union later tried to capture the temporary sand fortifications of Battery Wagner (protecting Charleston) and Fort Fisher (protecting Wilmington) they employed similar tactics but with disastrous results. The value of sand in defensive positions vastly minimized the Federal advantage in artillery, making these coastal strongpoints especially costly to capture. Through this geologically centered historic lens, Scott Hippensteel explores the way sediments and sedimentary rocks influenced the fighting in all theaters of war and how geologic resources were exploited by both sides during the five years of conflict.
ISBN: 9780820363523Publication Date: 2023-03-15
Soil to Foil : Aluminum and the Quest for Industrial Sustainability by
Aluminum is the most abundant metal in the earth's crust. It is also ubiquitous in the modern world, from aircraft to soda cans. A dizzying number of consumer and industrial products employ aluminum, typically alloyed, because of its availability, versatility, and malleability. Today, how efficiently we use—and reuse—aluminum is vital to addressing key environmental challenges and understanding humanity's fraught relationship with the earth.Soil to Foil tells the extraordinary story of aluminum. Saleem H. Ali reveals its pivotal role in the histories of scientific inquiry and technological innovation as well as its importance to sustainability. He offers compelling portraits of the scientists and innovators who discovered new uses for this remarkable element, ranging from chemistry and geoscience to engineering and industrial design. Ali argues that aluminum exemplifies broader lessons about stewardship of nonrenewable resources: its seeming abundance has given rise to wasteful and destructive practices. Soil to Foil follows aluminum's path along the supply chain, from extraction to production, consumption to recycling. Ali explores the ecological damage at mine sites and visits affected communities seeking to restore the land. He foregrounds the possibilities for more sustainable industrial practices, emphasizing how product design can incorporate eventual reuse and recycling. Ultimately, Soil to Foil shows that the story of aluminum's use and misuse helps us rethink how to sustainably manage the resources of our planet.
ISBN: 9780231555562Publication Date: 2023
Structural Geology and Tectonics Field Guidebook—Volume 2 by
This book is the second volume of an edited work aiming to help novice geologists to explore terrains independently. Geoscience fieldwork with focus on structural geology and tectonics has become more important in the last few years from both academic and industrial perspectives. This book also works as a resource material for batches of students or geological survey professionals undergoing training as parts of their course curriculum/training. Industry persons, on the other hand, can get a first-hand idea about what to expect in the field, in case no academic persons are available with the team. This book focuses on structural geology and tectonics and compiles terrains from several regions of the globe. This book also includes field guide chapters for primary sedimentary structures.
ISBN: 9783031195761Publication Date: 2023
Click the i button to see the book's description.
If the Scout record does not include a working link, you may have to search the database listed on the UA Library Website.
Advanced Algorithms for Mineral and Hydrocarbon Exploration Using Synthetic Aperture Radar by
Advanced Algorithms for Mineral and Hydrocarbon Exploration Using Synthetic Aperture Radar is a research- and practically-based reference that bridges the gap between the remote sensing industry and the mineral and hydrocarbon exploration industry. In this context, the book explains how to commercialize the applications of synthetic aperture radar and quantum interferometry synthetic aperture radar (QInSAR) for mineral and hydrocarbon exploration. This multidisciplinary reference is useful for oil and gas companies, the mining industry, geoscientists, and coastal and petroleum engineers.
ISBN: 9780128217962Publication Date: 2021-12-06
Andean Structural Styles by
Andean Structural Styles: A Seismic Atlas is a comprehensive reference illustrating the variability in structural styles and hydrocarbon traps that exist in the Andean chain. The Andean chain, stretching over more than 5,000 km (3,000 mi) from Venezuela to Argentina, contains a large number of sedimentary basins which have developed in a wide range of tectonic settings. Some of these basins are highly mature, with hydrocarbon production from Paleozoic, Mesozoic, and Cenozoic sedimentary sequences, while others are still underexplored. Andean Structural Styles: A Seismic Atlas covers topics including fold types, thrust faults, triangle zones, inversion structures, synorogenic deposits, and growth stratal geometries. These topics are illustrated by thirty-two seismic examples interpreted and uninterpreted, covering most of the Andean basins, and five chapters reviewing the structural styles of the Andes, the complexity of processing seismic in these settings, how analogue models help in the interpretation, and several outcrop analogues. This reference is invaluable to both hydrocarbon exploration of the Andes and researchers and students in the fields of exploration geology and structural geology. Also, those teaching structural geology and seismic interpretation will find a valuable resource with lots of uninterpreted seismic examples that can be used in their lectures.
ISBN: 9780323851756Publication Date: 2022-04-26
Atlas of Deformed and Metamorphosed Rocks from Proterozoic Orogens by
Atlas of Deformed and Metamorphosed Rocks from Proterozoic Orogens is a richly illustrated reference book featuring over 660 full-color field images of a range of lithologies from some Proterozoic terrains that were subjected to multiple events of magmatism, deformation, metamorphism, and metasomatism. The Atlas focuses on amphibolite to granulite facies lithologies and associated ma?c-ultrama?c rocks from Proterozoic orogens of India, Sri Lanka, Botswana, South Africa, East Antarctica, and Western Australia. Each chapter in the book begins with a brief review of geology, including deformation and metamorphic history, along with a regional geological map to help readers to visualize the ?eld observations in the relevant geological context. Each image is accompanied by a concise description providing location, lithology, structural fabric, possible deformational history, metamorphic features, partial melting, metasomatism, and other important crustal processes. This Atlas is an important source of information for a broad range of earth scientists, graduate and undergraduate students, researchers, academicians, and other professionals. This book will form a great treasure to those geoscientists who never had an opportunity to visit any of the Proterozoic orogenic belts.
ISBN: 9780128179789Publication Date: 2021-10-16
Clay Minerals and Synthetic Analogous As Emulsifiers of Pickering Emulsions by
Clay Minerals and Synthetic Analogous as Emulsifiers of Pickering Emulsions begins with basic concepts of Pickering emulsions, describes the thermodynamic, kinetic and gravitational stability, the methods of preparation, and the most common characterization techniques. Next, the book presents detailed structure, properties, and physical-chemical modifications of natural and synthetic layered minerals to optimize its properties. Figures and schemes are prepared for experts in the area as well as the undergraduate and graduate students from many different research areas where clay minerals, synthetic layered materials and Pickering emulsion have potential applications. Clay Minerals and Synthetic Analogous as Emulsifiers of Pickering Emulsions fills a gap in the literature, stimulates the aggregation of value of clay minerals, and shows the readers the methods of preparation, characterization, and applications of Pickering emulsions stabilized with layered materials, giving special attention to clay minerals.
ISBN: 9780323918589Publication Date: 2022-08-25
Coastal Flood Risk Reduction by
Coastal Flood Risk Reduction: The Netherlands and the U.S. Upper Texas Coast represents the culmination of a 5-year international research and education partnership funded by the US National Science Foundation (NSF) and more than 10 years of collaboration between Dutch and U.S. flood experts on the basic issue of how to protect society from growing flood risks. Multiple case studies integrating the fields of engineering, hydrology, landscape architecture, economics, and planning address the underlying characteristics of physical flood risks and their prediction; human communities and the associated built environment; physical, social, and built-environment variables; and mitigation techniques. In recognition of the lack of systematic research and the growing societal need to better understand flood impacts, this edited book provides an in-depth, comparative evaluation of flood problems and solutions in two key places: the Netherlands and the U.S. Upper Texas Coast. Both regions are extremely flood-prone and have experienced continual adverse impacts throughout their histories. For researchers in flood management, geographers, hydrologists, environmental studies, and social science as well as policymakers and decision-makers in flood management authorities and related industries, this book provides an essential resource.
ISBN: 9780323852517Publication Date: 2022-04-29
Cross-Scale Coupling and Energy Transfer in the Magnetosphere-Ionosphere-Thermosphere System by
Cross-Scale Coupling and Energy Transfer in the Magnetosphere-Ionosphere-Thermosphere System provides a systematic understanding of Magnetosphere-Ionosphere-Thermosphere dynamics. Cross-scale coupling has become increasingly important in the Space Physics community. Although large-scale processes can specify the averaged state of the system reasonably well, they cannot accurately describe localized and rapidly varying structures in space in actual events. Such localized and variable structures can be as intense as the large-scale features. This book covers observations on quantifying coupling and energetics and simulation on evaluating impacts of cross-scale processes. It includes an in-depth review and summary of the current status of multi-scale coupling processes, fundamental physics, and concise illustrations and plots that are usable in tutorial presentations and classrooms. Organized by physical quantities in the system, Cross-Scale Coupling and Energy Transfer in the Magnetosphere-Ionosphere-Thermosphere System reviews recent advances in cross-scale coupling and energy transfer processes, making it an important resource for space physicists and researchers working on the magnetosphere, ionosphere, and thermosphere.
ISBN: 9780128213667Publication Date: 2021-12-09
Diamond: Genesis, Mineralogy and Geochemistry by
Diamond is the record-setter in many mineralogical properties such as hardness, diffusivity, thermal conductivity, purity, and covalency of bonding. Similarly, diamond, as the premier gemstone of the mantle holds primacy for geological features such as age and depth of origin. Diamond was among the first crystalline structures to be solved by X-ray diffraction and the first materials measured for their Raman spectrum. At more than 80 billion USD in yearly commercial value, diamond sets the record for the most traded, valuable mineral on the planet. Despite its chemical simplicity, diamond has been the object of more research effort, and had more scientific and popular press pages written about it, than any other mineral.
ISBN: 9781946850102Publication Date: 2022-12-19
European Glacial Landscapes by
European Glacial Landscapes: Maximum Extent of Glaciations brings together relevant experts on the history of glaciers and their impact on the landscape of the main regions of Europe. In some regions the largest recorded glaciations occurred before the Last Glacial Cycle, in one of the major glacial cycles of the Middle Pleistocene. However, the best-preserved evidence of glaciation in the landscape is from the Last Glacial Cycle (Late Pleistocene). The book also analyses these older glacial landforms that can sometimes still be seen in the landscape today. This analysis provides a better understanding of the succession of Pleistocene glaciations and the intervening interglacial periods, examining their possible continental synchrony or asynchrony of past glacier behaviour. The result of this analysis gives important new insights and information on the origin and effects of climatic and geomorphological variability across Europe. European Glacial Landscapes: Maximum Extent of Glaciations examines the landscapes produced by glaciers throughout Europe, the geomorphological effects of glaciations, as well as the chronology and evolution of the past glaciers, with the aim of understanding the interrelationship between glacial expansion and climate changes on this continent. This book is a valuable tool for geographers, geologist, environmental scientists, researchers in physics and earth sciences.
ISBN: 9780128234983Publication Date: 2021-11-18
Integrated Quaternary Stratigraphy by
Stratigraphy Timescales, Volume Seven in the Advances in Sequence Stratigraphy series, covers research in stratigraphic disciplines, including the most recent developments in the geosciences. This fully commissioned review publication aims to foster and convey progress in stratigraphy with its inclusion of a variety of topics surrounding the latest research and findings in sequence stratigraphy.
ISBN: 9780323989138Publication Date: 2022-11-17
Interpreting Subsurface Seismic Data by
Interpreting Subsurface Seismic Data presents recent advances in methodologies for seismic imaging and interpretation across multiple applications in geophysics including exploration, marine geology, and hazards. It provides foundational information for context, as well as focussing on recent advances and future challenges. It offers detailed methodologies for interpreting the increasingly vast quantity of data extracted from seismic volumes. Organized into three parts covering foundational context, case studies, and future considerations, Interpreting Subsurface Seismic Data offers a holistic view of seismic data interpretation to ensure understanding while also applying cutting-edge technologies. This view makes the book valuable to researchers and students in a variety of geoscience disciplines, including geophysics, hydrocarbon exploration, applied geology, and hazards.
ISBN: 9780128185629Publication Date: 2022-06-01
Mass Transport in Magmatic Systems by
Mass Transport in Magmatic Systems describes the properties and processes of these natural occurrences, including a description and discussions of how properties can be used for quantitative description of mass and energy transport on, and in, Earth and terrestrial planets. As the experimentally obtained chemical and physical properties of magma is scattered across literature, this book provides a comprehensive volume on the topic. Moreover, links between properties and processes are rarely appreciated. This makes it challenging for a non-experimentalist to access, evaluate, and apply such data.
ISBN: 9780128212011Publication Date: 2022-10-13
Meso-Cenozoic Brazilian Offshore Magmatism by
Meso-Cenozoic Brazilian Offshore Magmatism: Geochemistry, Petrology and Tectonics presents detailed studies from different points-of-view on the geological--particularly magmatic--evolution of the Brazilian and South Atlantic Ocean offshore areas. This comprehensive book on geological events will help readers understand the holistic evolution of the area across geographical boundaries. Each chapter consists of an introduction, regional and local geology, methods, results, discussions, conclusions and supplementary material related to the geological development in island and seamounts in the Brazilian Platform and seafloor.
ISBN: 9780128239889Publication Date: 2021-12-08
The Physical Oceanography of the Arctic Mediterranean Sea by
The Physical Oceanography of the Arctic Mediterranean Sea describes the circulation and the processes in the Arctic Mediterranean, how our present knowledge has developed, and presents recent changes caused by a gradually warmer global climate. The Arctic Mediterranean Sea has been intensively studied in recent years, especially during the fourth International Polar Year, 2007-09, and we have become increasingly aware of the changes presently taking place. This book collects and presents newly acquired knowledge and sets it in perspective to previous studies. Authored by a world-renowned leader in the field, this book explores the role of this small but important sea in the global oceanic circulation and climate--a must-read for researchers and students in the fields of oceanography and climate science.
ISBN: 9780128169308Publication Date: 2021-09-22
Principles of Sequence Stratigraphy by
Principles of Sequence Stratigraphy, Second Edition presents principles to practical workflow that guide applications in a consistent manner that is independent of model, geological setting and the types and resolution of the data available. The book explains the points of agreement and difference between the various approaches to sequence stratigraphy, while also defining the common ground that affords the standard application of the method. This enables the practitioner to avoid nomenclatural and methodological confusions and apply sequence stratigraphy. The text is richly illustrated with hundreds of full-color diagrams and examples of outcrop, borehole and seismic data. The book's balanced approach helps students and professionals acquire a sound understanding of the concepts and methodology. It will appeal to geologists, geophysicists and engineers with interest in basin analysis, stratigraphy and sedimentology, as well as in all economic applications that concern the exploration and production of natural resources, including water, hydrocarbons, coal and sediment-hosted mineral deposits.
ISBN: 9780444533531Publication Date: 2022-10-03
Reservoir Characterization of Tight Gas Sandstones by
Reservoir Characterization of Tight Gas Sandstones: Exploration and Development is essential reading for those working in oil and gas exploration (both in industry and academia) as it contains chapters that help them further understand all aspects of tight gas reservoirs. In this book, experts in industry and academia update readers on new methods of tight gas reservoir modeling and evaluation. As there are very limited published books in the field of tight sandstones, this book will benefit readers by making them familiar with state-of-art methods of tight gas sandstones characterization and evaluation.
ISBN: 9780323901802Publication Date: 2022-08-15
Thin Section Petrography, Geochemistry and Scanning Electron Microscopy of Archaeological Ceramics by
Thin section petrography, geochemistry, scanning electron microscopy and X-ray diffraction are key scientific methods used to investigate the raw materials, origins and production technology of archaeological pottery, ceramic building materials, ancient refractories and plaster. Using over 400 colour figures of a diverse range of artefact types and archaeological periods from 50 countries worldwide, this book outlines the mineralogical, chemical and microstructural composition of ancient ceramics and provides comprehensive guidelines for their scientific study within archaeology. The core of the book is dedicated to the versatile approach of ceramic petrography. This is complimented by a detailed account of the principles of bulk instrumental geochemistry, as well as the SEM microanalysis and XRD characterisation of ceramics. The book is intended as a reference manual for research as well as a course text for specialist training on scientific ceramic analysis.
ISBN: 9781803272702Publication Date: 2022-07-14
Two Acres of Time : Unearthing the Ice Age at the Byron Dig by
In 1959, what appeared to be the bones of a mastodon were found in a western New York pasture. When researchers began to investigate further in the early 1980s, the site proved to hold far more. Known as the Hiscock Site, it contained an astonishingly rich trove of fossils and artifacts dating from the late Ice Age through the onset of European settlement. For nearly three decades, work at the site—the “Byron Dig”—unearthed new evidence of changing fauna, flora, cultures, and environments over the past 13,000 years.In Two Acres of Time, Richard S. Laub—the principal investigator of the project—tells the story of the Byron Dig. Recounting twenty-nine years of intensive excavation involving more than a thousand participants, he provides a comprehensive account of a working paleontological and archaeological field project and its contributions to our knowledge of the past. Laub explores how understanding of the site evolved through the years, the surprises that came to light along the way, and how contributions from numerous researchers helped achieve a fuller picture of the significance of the findings. The book also shows how people from all walks of life—not only scientists but also volunteers and local small-town residents—worked together to unearth and interpret the site's contents and to preserve them for future generations. This extensively illustrated book connects life at a scientific excavation project to the grand sweep of long-ago epochs, and is a compelling read and resource for researchers and general readers alike.
ISBN: 9780231556620
