Research Data and Geographic Information Librarian
Roadside Geology Collection
New Arrivals
Altered Earth by
Altered Earth aims to get the Anthropocene right in three senses. With essays by leading scientists, it highlights the growing consensus that our planet entered a dangerous new state in the mid-twentieth century. Second, it gets the Anthropocene right in human terms, bringing together a range of leading authors to explore, in fiction and non-fiction, our deep past, global conquest, inequality, nuclear disasters, and space travel. Finally, this landmark collection presents what hope might look like in this seemingly hopeless situation, proposing new political forms and mutualistic cities. 'Right' in this book means being as accurate as possible in describing the physical phenomenon of the Anthropocene; as balanced as possible in weighing the complex human developments, some willed and some unintended, that led to this predicament; and as just as possible in envisioning potential futures.
Call Number: GF75 .A58 2022ISBN: 9781316517475Publication Date: 2022-03-31
Biogeochemistry by
Biogeochemistry: An Analysis of Global Change, Fourth Edition, considers how the basic chemical conditions of the Earth, from atmosphere to soil to seawater, have been, and are being, affected by the existence of life. Human activities in particular, from the rapid consumption of resources to the destruction of the rainforests and the expansion of smog-covered cities, are leading to rapid changes in the basic chemistry of the Earth. The new edition features expanded coverage of topics, including the cryosphere, the global hydrogen cycle, biomineralization and the movement of elements across landscapes and continents by organisms and through global trade. The book will help students and researchers extrapolate small-scale examples to a global level. With cross-referencing of chapters, figures and tables, and an interdisciplinary coverage of the topic, this updated edition provides an excellent framework for examining global change and environmental chemistry.
ISBN: 9780128146088Publication Date: 2020-10-22
Elements of Petroleum Geology by
Elements of Petroleum Geology, Fourth Edition is a useful primer for geophysicists, geologists and petroleum engineers in the oil industry who wish to expand their knowledge beyond their specialized area. It is also an excellent introductory text for a university course in petroleum geoscience. This updated edition includes new case studies on non-conventional exploration, including tight oil and shale gas exploration, as well as coverage of the impacts on petroleum geology on the environment. Sections on shale reservoirs, flow units and containers, IOR and EOR, giant petroleum provinces, halo reservoirs, and resource estimation methods are also expanded.
ISBN: 9780128223161Publication Date: 2022-10-11
Fundamentals of geomorphology by
First edition published by Routledge 2002. Fourth edition published by Routledge 2017" -- Title page verso.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Summary:"This revised and updated edition continues to provide a comprehensive introduction to the subject, exploring the world's landforms from a broad systems perspective. It covers the basics of Earth surface forms and processes, while reflecting on the latest developments in the field. Fundamentals of Geomorphology begins with a consideration of the nature of geomorphology, including its relation to society, process and form, history, and geomorphic systems, and moves on to discuss: Structure: structural landforms associated with plate tectonics and those associated with volcanoes, and folds, faults, and joints. Process and form: landforms resulting from, or influenced by, the exogenic agencies of weathering, running water, flowing ice and meltwater, ground ice and frost, the wind, and the sea; landforms developed on limestone; extraterrestrial landforms; and landscape evolution, a discussion of ancient landforms. Fundamentals of Geomorphology provides a stimulating and innovative perspective on the key topics and debates within the field of geomorphology. Written in an accessible and lively manner, it includes guides to further reading, chapter summaries, and an extensive glossary of key terms. The book is also illustrated throughout with over 200 informative diagrams and attractive photographs, all in colour. It is supported by online resources for students and instructors
Call Number: Rogers GB401.5 .H845 2023ISBN: 9781032169637Publication Date: 2023
Introduction to the geology of Jordan by
Jordan can be considered to be an outdoor natural geological museum, exhibiting rocks of the Precambrian age up to the present Holocene time. Within its rocks are imprinted fossils, recrystallized minerals, geological structures, ancient human remains, and other geological features, which contribute to our understanding of global geology. This book offers simple, up-to-date findings, descriptions, and discussions with clear illustrations to help students and researchers comprehend the geology of Jordan. The book will also allow non-geologists to gain insight into Jordan's geological set-up.
Call Number: Rogers QE318.2 .A44 2023ISBN: 9781527528130Publication Date: 2023
Strata by
Lavishly illustrated with full-color geological maps, tables of strata, geological cross-sections, photographs, and fossil illustrations from the archives of the Oxford University Museum of Natural History, the Geological Society, the London Natural History Museum, and others, Strata provides the first complete presentation of the revolutionary work of nineteenth-century geologist William Smith, the so-called father of English geology. It illustrates the story of his career, from apprentice to surveyor for hire and fossil collector, from his 1799 geological map of Bath and table of strata to his groundbreaking 1815 geological strata map, and from his imprisonment for debt to his detailed stratigraphical county maps. This sumptuous volume begins with an introduction by Douglas Palmer that places Smith's work in the context of earlier, concurrent, and subsequent ideas regarding the structure and natural processes of the earth, geographical mapping, and biostratigraphical theories. The book is then organized into four parts, each beginning with four sheets from Smith's hand-colored, 1815 strata map, accompanied by related geological cross-sections and county maps, and followed by fossil illustrations by Smith contemporary James Sowerby, all organized by strata. Essays between each section explore the aims of Smith's work and its application in the fields of mining, agriculture, cartography and hydrology. Strata concludes with reflections on Smith's later years as an itinerant geologist and surveyor, plagiarism by a rival, receipt of the first Wollaston Medal in recognition of his achievements, and the influence of his geological mapping and biostratigraphical theories on the sciences--all of which culminated in the establishment of the modern geological timescale. Featuring a foreword by Robert Macfarlane, Strata is a glorious testament to the lasting geological and illustrative genius of William Smith, a collection as colossal and awe-inspiring as the layers of the Earth themselves.
Call Number: Rogers QE22.S6 S77 2020ISBN: 9780226754888Publication Date: 2020-11-23
Super Volcanoes by
Volcanoes are capable of acts of pyrotechnical prowess verging on magic: they spout black magma more fluid than water, create shimmering cities of glass at the bottom of the ocean and frozen lakes of lava on the moon, and can even tip entire planets over. Despite their reputation for destruction, volcanoes are inseparable from the creation of our planet. Super Volcanoes revels in the incomparable power of volcanic eruptions past and present, Earth-bound and otherwise, and explores how these eruptions reveal secrets about the worlds to which they belong. Science journalist and volcanologist Robin George Andrews describes the stunning ways in which volcanoes can sculpt the sea, land, and sky, and even influence the machinery that makes or breaks the existence of life. Traveling from Hawaii, Tanzania, Yellowstone, and the ocean floor to the moon, Venus, and Mars, Andrews explores cutting-edge discoveries and lingering scientific mysteries surrounding these phenomenal forces of nature.
Call Number: QE522 .A56 2022ISBN: 9780393542066Publication Date: 2021-11-02
Writing Our Extinction by
Mid-twentieth-century developments in science and technology produced new understandings and images of the planet that circulated the globe, giving rise to a modern ecological consciousness; but they also contributed to accelerating crises in the global environment, including climate change, pollution, and waste. In this new work, Patrick Whitmarsh analyzes postwar narrative fictions that describe, depict, or express the earth from above (the aerial) and below (the subterranean), revealing the ways that literature has engaged this history of vertical science and linked it to increasing environmental precarity, up to and including the extinction of humankind. Whitmarsh examines works by writers such as Don DeLillo, Karen Tei Yamashita, Reza Negarestani, and Colson Whitehead alongside postwar scientific programs including the Space Race, atmospheric and underground nuclear testing, and geological expeditions such as Project Mohole (which attempted to drill to the earth's mantle). As Whitmarsh argues, by focusing readers' attention on the fragility of postwar life through a vertical lens, Anthropocene fiction highlights the interconnections between human behavior and planetary change. These fictions situate industrial history within the much longer narrative of geological time and reframe scientific progress as a story through which humankind writes itself out of existence.
Call Number: PS379 .W494 2023ISBN: 9781503633001Publication Date: 2023-04-11
How to Live at the End of the World by
Assessing the dawn of the Anthropocene era, a poet and philosopher asks: How do we live at the end of the world? The end of the Holocene era is marked not just by melting glaciers or epic droughts, but by the near universal disappearance of shared social enterprise: the ruling class builds walls and lunar shuttles, while the rest of us contend with the atrophy of institutional integrity and the utter abdication of providing even minimal shelter from looming disaster. The irony of the Anthropocene era is that, in a neoliberal culture of the self, it is forcing us to consider ourselves as a collective again. For those of us who are not wealthy enough to start a colony on Mars or isolate ourselves from the world, the Anthropocene ends the fantasy of sheer individualism and worldlessness once and for all. It introduces a profound sense of time and events after the so-called "end of history" and an entirely new approach to solidarity. How to Live at the End of the World is a hopeful exploration of how we might inherit the name "Anthropocene," renarrate it, and revise our way of life or thought in view of it. In his book on time, art, and politics in an era of escalating climate change, Holloway takes up difficult, unanswered questions in recent work by Donna Haraway, Kathryn Yusoff, Bruno Latour, Dipesh Chakrabarty, and Isabelle Stengers, sketching a path toward a radical form of democracy--a zoocracy, or, a rule of all of the living.
Call Number: BD450 .H6355 2022 [Gorgas]ISBN: 9781503633339Publication Date: 2022-05-03
Geoengineering, Persuasion, and the Climate Crisis by
A rhetorical exploration of an underexamined side of climate change--the ongoing research into and development of geoengineering strategies Geoengineering, Persuasion, and the Climate Crisis: A Geologic Rhetoric exposes the deeply worrying state of discourse over geoengineering--the intentional manipulation of the earth's climate as means to halt or reverse global warming. These climate-altering projects, which range from cloud-whitening to carbon dioxide removal and from stratospheric aerosol injection to enhanced weathering, are all technological solutions to more complex geosocial problems. Geoengineering represents one of the most alarming forms of deliberative discourse in the twenty-first century. Yet geoengineering could easily generate as much harm as the environmental traumas it seeks to cure. Complicating these deliberations is the scarcity of public discussion. Most deliberations transpire within policy groups, behind the closed doors of climate-oriented startups, between subject-matter experts at scientific conferences, or in the disciplinary jargon of research journals. Further, much of this conversation occurs primarily in the West. Ehren Helmut Pflugfelder makes clear how the deliberative rhetorical strategies coming from geoengineering advocates have been largely deceptive, hegemonic, deterministic, and exploitative. In this volume, he investigates how geoengineering proponents marshal geologic actors into their arguments--and how current discourse could lead to a greater exploitation of the earth in the future. Pflugfelder's goal is to understand the structure, content, purpose, and effect of these discourses, raise the alarm about their deliberative directions, and help us rethink our approach to the climate. In highlighting both the inherent problems of the discourses and the ways geologic rhetoric can be made productive, he attempts to give "the geologic" a place at the table to better understand the roles that all earth systems continue to play in our lives, now and for years to come.
Call Number: TD171.9 .P55 2023 [Gorgas & Hoole]ISBN: 9780817321420Publication Date: 2022-12-13
Courbet's Landscapes by
A groundbreaking insight into Gustave Courbet and his bold experiments in landscape painting Between 1862 and 1866 Gustave Courbet embarked on a series of sensuous landscape paintings that would later inspire the likes of Monet, Pissarro, and Cézanne. This series has long been neglected in favor of Courbet's paintings of rural French life. Courbet's Landscapes: The Origins of Modern Painting explores these astonishing paintings, staking a claim for their importance to Courbet's work and later developments in French modernism. Ranging from the grottoes of Courbet's native Franche-Comté to the beaches of Normandy, Paul Galvez follows the artist on his travels as he uses a palette-knife to transform the Romantic landscape of voyage into a direct, visceral confrontation with the material world. The Courbet he discovers is not the celebrated history painter of provincial life, but a committed landscapist whose view of nature aligns him with contemporary developments in geology, history, linguistics, and literature.
Call Number: ND553.C9 G35 2022ISBN: 9780300244137Publication Date: 2022-05-24
Munsell Color Charts
Munsell Soil Color and Rock Color Books
Check-out length: 10 days, but able to be renewed if no one is waiting.
In an attempt to make these expensive but industry standard books more readily available, copies of the Munsell Soil-Color and Munsell Rock-Color Books are available on reserve in Rogers Library for Science & Engineering.
It is understood that these books will be used in the field, but please try your best to return them without specimen (please wipe off before returning).
Search Our Collections Online
Scout
This is the University of Alabama's main discovery system allowing you to search hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our catalog, ebooks, videos, news, and more!
The Catalog Advanced Search
The Classic Catalog searches books, journal titles, and e-books within the UA Libraries System. The benefit of searching the Catalog is being able to limit results by library location.
Inter-Library Loan
Can't find what you're looking for?
- Inter Library Loan (ILLiad)If we don't have what you're looking for, our ILL department can help you get books and articles from one of our network institutions.
Browsing for Geology Books in Our Libraries
Our Geology is housed in Rogers Library, however due to the interdisciplinary nature of geology, some books can be found in Bruno (GIS & research data) and Gorgas (Social Sciences, Climatology, etc.).
Most subject headings for "classic" geology will fall under QE. Here at UA we use the Library of Congress (LOC) call number system to organize our collection. Below are some subject headings to get you started.
|
Call Number |
Description |
|
Q |
Science (General) |
|
QE |
Geology (General), with subclasses of Mineralogy (351-399), Volcanoes & Earthquakes (521-545), Stratigraphy (640-699), etc. |
|
QH |
Natural History - Biology |
|
GE |
Environmental Sciences |
Other related subject headings (Most located in Gorgas Library)
|
Call Number |
Description |
|
G |
Geography (Physical Geography in Rogers, GIS in Bruno) |
|
H |
Social Sciences (General) Includes subdivisions for demography (HB), land use (HD), and transportation (HE) |
|
J |
Political Science (General) |
|
S |
Agriculture (General) Forestry (SD) |
|
E |
History of the Americas (US 151-909) |