Research Data and Geographic Information Librarian
Research Databases
- GeoBase This link opens in a new windowGEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database covering international journals that provides bibliographic information and abstracts, plus some full text, for geography, development studies, earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, and oceanography.
- GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of journals in the geosciences, plus GeoRef.
- OnePetro This link opens in a new windowOnePetro.org is a multi-society digital library that provides access to a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowThe database of the American Geological Institute (AGI). Covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics and corresponds to thee print publications: Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, Bibliography of Theses in Geology, Geophysical Abstracts, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, and Bibliography and Index of Geology. It also organizes and indexes papers from serials and other publications representative of the interests of the 20 professional geological and earth science societies that are members of the AGI.
- GeoScienceWorld eBooks Collection This link opens in a new windowGeoScienceWorld ebooks collection is comprised of books dedicated to the study of the earth sciences. Coverage: 1926-present
- Scout This link opens in a new windowThe University of Alabama's discovery service, searching content from hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our library catalog, ebooks, videos, news and more.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Information source for scientific, medical, and technical research, and also includes social science and humanities topics. Contains articles on topics such as chemistry, mathematics, computer and materials science, and medicine, and links to journal titles and articles that have been accepted for publication but not yet in print. Users also have access to Medline, a web search engine, and information on available jobs for scientists.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier contains full text and peer-reviewed publications. It also contains indexing and abstracts for news sources and refereed journals in nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowAcademic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Topics covered include the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a collection of databases covering various subject areas and directed at various age groups. Includes full text of newspapers and encyclopedias, ebooks and various images, pamphlets, and brochures.
- Springer Journals This link opens in a new windowSpringer ejournals covering a wide variety of topics in the sciences.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowJournals from Taylor & Francis publishers that cover a wide variety of topics including accounting, medicine, politics, science, and gender studies.
Geologic Science Journals
Top 10 Geology Journals in 2022
Links open Scout page for each journal, click +Full Text Access to see access options.
*Ranked on SJR index that combines impact, influence, and prestige.
From Scimago Journal & Country Ranks, 2022
Top 10 Open Access Geology Journals in 2022
Links open Scout page for each journal, click +Full Text Access to see access options.
*Ranked on SJR index that combines impact, influence, and prestige.
From Scimago Journal & Country Ranks, 2022
Top University of Alabama Geology Journals
Links open to Scout page, click +Full Text Access to see access options
*Ranked by number of articles published by University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa affiliated authors
Source: Web of Science, 01-JUL-2023
Search for a Specific Article
Publication Finder
The UA Libraries Publication Finder will allow you to search though ejournals, ebooks, and newspapers.
Scout
This is the University of Alabama's main discovery system allowing you to search hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our catalog, ebooks, videos, news, and more!
The Catalog Advanced Search
The Classic Catalog searches books, journal titles, and e-books within the UA Libraries System. The benefit of searching the Catalog is being able to limit results by library location.
Inter-Library Loan
Can't find what you're looking for?
- Inter Library Loan (ILLiad)If we don't have what you're looking for, our ILL department can help you get books and articles from one of our network institutions.