Skip to main content

The South: Culture and History: Alabama

This library guide is designed for researchers studying any topics related to the South's culture and history.

State and Local News

Tuscaloosa News

Northport Gazette

AL.com (includes newspapers from Birmingham, Mobile, Huntsville)

LexisNexis Academic--an exceptional resource for news topics from the past twenty years. You can focus your search on Alabama news sources.

WVUA (TV news station for UA and Tuscaloosa)

Google News--to focus your search on Alabama, type Alabama in the "News source" box, and then type your topic in the top search boxes.

You can find an extensive list of Alabama e-zines, TV and radio news stations, newspapers, and magazines in the Alabama Media Index.

Alabama History

 Alabama Mosaic--a large online archive of images, newspaper clippings, government documents, manuscripts, and other soruces from Alabama's history.

America: History and Life-finds articles about Alabama history from state journals and magazines, including Alabama Heritage, Alabama Review, and Southern Historian.

JSTOR-contains thousands of articles from key journals in history, political science, sociology, women's studies, and African-American studies.

WPA life histories from Alabama--interviews with Alabamians from the 1930s.

W. S. Hoole Special Collections Library (UA library covering Alabama history)

Some good primary source texts on civil rights in Alabama include:

Kempton, Murray. "When The Riots Came." Reporting Civil Rights: Part One American Journalism 1941-1963. Ed. Library of America, 2003. Print.

 Sitton, Claude. "Alabama Admits Negro Students; Wallace Bows To Federal Force." Reporting Civil Rights: Part One American Journalism 1941-1963. Ed. Library of America, 2003. Print.

For even more information about Alabama history, please see Alabama Resources from Hoole

Government

State of Alabama Official Web Site--education, law, disability services, state news, consumer protection, history, economy, community resources.

State and Local Governments in Alabama--quickly find links to city and county government sites.

The University of Alabama

University of Alabama Home Page--you can use the "A-Z Index" to easily find the home page of particular department.  Or, you can use the search box.

Alabama Commission on Higher Education--reports on UA and education in the state.

Crimson White--student newspaper of UA.  Find articles written by and for students.

W. S. Hoole Special Collections Library--this library is located on the second floor of Mary Marmon Bryant Hall on Hackberry Lane (across the street from Gordon-Palmer).  For a map, please click here.  Hoole holds the University Archives, including past issues of the Crimson White and Corolla!

Paul W. Bryant Museum--visit this museum to research Alabama football or other sports.

University of Alabama News from The New York Times--UA news from a national news source.

Topix--news about UA gathered from thousands of news sources!

Visit the Alabama Athletics Library Guide if you are researching athletics at The University of Alabama!

Old Alabama Newspapers

A few older Alabama newspapers are now on the internet:

Birmingham Iron Age--some Birmingham, AL newspapers of the late 1800s.

Google News Archive--This special tool from Google allows you to search a variety of news sources from past years.  Please limit to the appropriate date.  Also, please note that you can limit to free sources using the "Price" feature.  A few older issues of the Tuscaloosa News are now available. 

NewspaperARCHIVE.com--an extensive database of local papers from cities as well as small towns around the United States.  Contains several Alabama newspapers.

Gorgas Library also has a number of old Alabama newspapers on microfilm.  Microfilm is a type of photographic film that has images of documents.  Instead of keeping copies of old newspapers in the original print format, libraries and publishers often scan copies of old newspapers onto microfilm to save space.

You can find the microfilm in the metal cabinets on the second floor behind the Circulation Desk.  

Most of the newspapers are not indexed, and cannot be searched by keyword like electronic resources.  Therefore, you will probably have to do a lot of browsing.  One technique that can help you pinpoint articles on your topic is to find key dates in other sources, and then look at the newspaper issues for those dates.  Please be aware that in the pre-CNN era sometimes news stories about an event did not appear until several days afterwards--there was a time lag between the event and the publication of articles about it.  Thus, you may have to browse a paper for several days after the event, or look in the Sunday issues for events that happened earlier in the week.

Please ask for assistance, and the library staff will help you load the microfilm onto special readers.

Here are the call numbers for a few of the Alabama papers.  You can browse through them to see if they offer the years you need:

Birmingham World Z1 .W65 (leading African-American paper of Alabama)

Birmingham News Z1 .B52

Birmingham Post Z1 .B53

Tuscaloosa News Z63 .T9

Huntsville News Z47 .H98

Huntsville Times Z47 .H95

Montgomery Advertiser Z3 .M7

Selma Times Journal Z27. Se58

Dothan Eagle Z38 .D7

Florence Times Z41 .T4

Anniston Star Z11 .Ae71

Alabama Journal Z3 .A112

Mobile Register Z2 .M71

UA and the Environment

UA Environmental News--news stories from around campus about students, faculty, and staff working to protect the environment.

Environmental Institute for Sustainable Water, Air, and Land Resources--"is available to work with environmental organizations, public interest groups, government, and industry to foster an understanding of environmental problems."

Search the UA Student Organization Directory to find out about student groups helping the environment, the information that they provide, and how you can get involved!

For more about environmental programs on other colleges campuses, use this directory or search the college and university file in LexisNexis Academic.

Subject Guide

Alex Boucher's picture
Alex Boucher
Contact:
Gorgas 106
Phone: 205-348-6584
Schedule a Research Consultation

Books

You can search for books at UA using Scout.

 

Encyclopedia of Alabama

A great way to start your research is by looking up your topic in the Encyclopedia of Alabama.

You may be able to find an essay about your topic and citations to books and articles.

Timeline of Alabama History

Use this timeline to quickly find out what was happening in a particular period of Alabama history.