Skip to main content

The South: Culture and History: Native Americans

This library guide is designed for researchers studying any topics related to the South's culture and history.

Archaeology Databases

Find profiles of current and past tribes, artifact information, cultural practices.

AnthroSource

eHRAF World Cultures  

eHRAF Collection of Archaeology  

Moundville

A large Native American city, Moundville, once lay a few miles from Tuscaloosa.  Experience Native American culture firsthand at the Moundville site today!  Visit the Moundville Museum in person, less than an hour from Tuscaloosa, or check out their fantastic web site.

Journal Articles

  • Academic Search Premier -Very useful for starting an article search.  Contains articles from thousands of magazines, journals, and newspapers. 
  • America: History and Life-the premier database for secondary sources in American history. Finds journals for Native American history.
  • American National Biography Online-this database offers biographical essays on famous Native American figures.  It also gives you a short list of primary sources on that person.
  • Google Scholar--University of Alabama's portal for Google Scholar.  Google Scholar is a special part of Google that only finds scholarly articles.  As a UA student, you can access the texts of many of these articles by clicking the links that say "Full-Text @ UAlabama".
  • JSTOR-contains thousands of articles from key journals in history, political science, sociology, women's studies.

     

Introduction

Native Americans have profoundly influenced the South in many ways. 

For example, many Southern place names have their roots in Native American languages.  Alabama, for example, probably comes from Choctaw words meaning "thicket clearers" (The State's Name). 

Native American foods and agricultural practices have also had an incalculable influence on the South. Author Rosa Newman Hall notes that "Modern southern diets include a broad selection of Indian dishes. Hominy, grits, sweet potatoes, and many other foods are the legacy of the region's Indian peoples. Indeed, the "traditional" American thanksgiving dinner of turkey, cornmeal stuffing, green beans, wild rice, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, squash, pumpkin pie, grits, cornbread, green beans, pinto beans, tomatoes and peppers all come from Native Americans."

Find out more about Native American culture and its influence on Southern history through the resources on this page.

Links:

American Indian Tribes by State and Region

National Tribal Organizations

American Indian Tribal Foundation

Alabama's Lost Tribe

Facts on the American Indian and Alaskan Tribal Population (Census)

Native Americans: Stereotype vs. Reality

Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842

Native American Literature

Indigenous People's Literature--"Little known facts, poems, mythes and legends"

 Literature Online (LION)--click "Authors" on the left sidebar, scroll down and type "Native American" in quotation marks in the "Ethnicity" box, and click the purple"Search" box at the top right.  You will a list of Native American authors along with links to their writings, biographies, and criticism.  (Some are Southern while some come from other regions).

Find books of Native American literature and criticism by typing Native American literature in Scout, the UA Libraries' Catalog.  Some good books owned by UA include Myths and Tales of Southeastern Indians (electronic),  Choctaw Tales, and New Fire: Creek Folktales

 

The Cambridge Companion to Native American Literature can help you identify authors and titles of interest.

 

Languages

Native Languages of the Americas--"dedicated to preserving and promoting American Indian tribal languages, particularly through the use of Internet technology."

Native American History

American Memory --"gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States from the Library of Congress. Offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections."

ARTstor--"over a million historial images." 

Chickasaw Historical Research Page--primary sources from the history of a large Southern tribe.

Documenting the American South--"collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century."

Early Americas Digital Archive--"a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820."

Exploring the Early Americas--"features selections from the more than 3,000 rare maps, documents, paintings, prints, and artifacts that make up the Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress. It provides insight into indigenous cultures, the drama of the encounters between Native Americans and European explorers."

Huntington Free Library Native American Collection--"outstanding materials documenting the history, culture, languages, and arts of the native tribes of both North and South America."

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926--"contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration... the western movement... Native Americans,...military actions and much more."

Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842--"approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States"