Research Data and Geographic Information Librarian
Choosing a Repository
You can think of a repository as long-term secure storage for the datasets you make available. You might keep your working data in Box, local storage, or OneDrive but the final datasets you want to make public should be placed in a specialized data repository. Repositories make your data easier to find and access as well as provide long-term safety and support.
Before selecting a repository, double check your grant proposal requirements to ensure there are not additional stipulations on where you can deposit your data. For example, NASA requires that all research data be submitted to their STI Repository.
The repository you use should align with your data needs. It is good to consider the following elements when choosing a repository:
- Appropriate thematic domain
- Long-term preservation and contingency plans
- File size and format restrictions
- Sharing, reuse, and privacy policies
Note that it may make sense to submit your data to more than one repository, just check your funding agency's policies first.
Searching for Repositories
If your grant application does not specify repositories, Re3data and FAIRsharing are great places to start searching for an appropriate repository. Additionally check your field's organizations for sponsored repositories.
- Open Access Directory of Data RepositoriesOAD provides a list of data repositories that allow for open access separated by domain and subject.
- FAIRsharing.orgFAIRsharing focuses on creating a single source for standards, databases, repositories, and data policies. Search their database to find domain-specific repositories and their related policies and standards (all are needed for your DMP).
- re3data.orgAlso offers a database of domain-specific repositories, but focuses on permanent storage and access.
- Boston Universities Guidance on Choosing a RepositoryGoes into detail about some of the elements to consider and research about a repository before submitting your data.
Storing Your Data at UA
One option available uniquely to UA Researchers is depositing your data and research papers in the Institutional Repository.
Benefits include:
- Each item is granted a DOI providing unique long-term identification
- Additional MARC metadata created and indexed by Google
- Usage statistics on views and downloads
- Choose your Creative Commons License
For more information or to plan a deposite, please contact our Institutional Repository Librarian, Elaine Walker at elaine.walker@ua.edu
- U of Alabama Institutional RepositoryCollects, preserves, and distributes digital scholarly and research materials created by The University of Alabama community.
General Use Repositories
- FigshareFigshare allows to manage all your research outputs and make them available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner.
- GigaDBGigaDB contains 218 discoverable, trackable and citable datasets that have been assigned DOIs and are available for public download and use.
- DryadSearch and upload datasets that are associated with scholarly publications.
Software and Code
- GitHubThe largest source code repository, GitHub offers versioning control, user bug submission, and many other beneficial tools for software and coding projects.
- BitbucketThe proprietary version of GitHub owned by Atlassian. It offers additional features for paid users but allows for 1GB of storage for free accounts.
Social Sciences and Humanities
- ICPSRInter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). An international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. You can find data in many areas of social sciences such as population, education, health, and crime.
- Child Care and Early Education Research ConnectionsDatasets and publications for research in the areas of child care and education.
- UK Data ArchiveUK's largest collection of digital research data in the social sciences and humanities.
- NADAC - National Archive of Data on Arts & CultureRepository with data on the arts and arts' value and impact in society.
- ADA - Australian Data ArchiveIncludes Social Science, HIstorical, Indigenous, Longitudinal, Qualitative, Crime & Justice and International Data.
Physical Sciences
- Dauphin Island Sea Lab Data Management CenterDISL maintains and archives high quality marine scientific data.
- ChEBI - Chemical Entities of Biological InterestFreely available data of molecular entities focused on ‘small’ chemical compounds.
- PubChemData and repository for biological activities of small molecules.
- NOAA - National Centers for Environmental InformationVarious data from the Center for Weather and Climate and the Center for Coasts, Oceans, and Geophysics.
- NoMaD RepositoryData repository for novel materials data.
Life Sciences
- GenBankNIH genetic sequence database. It is a collection of all publically available DNA sequences.
- Protein Data BankRepository for 3D structures of biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids found in organisms.
- NCBI Taxonomy DatabaseCurated classifcation and nomenclature for organisms.
- ClinicalTrials.govRegistry and reuslts data repository of clinical human studies.
- EMBL-EBI- European Molecular Biology Laboratory - European Bioinformatics InstituteVariety of molecular biology information data and training courses.
Engineering
- DOE- Department of Energy Data CentersCollection of data repositories in engineering and related sciences.
- CAIDA - Center for Applied Internet Data AnalysisData for scientific analysis of Internet traffic, topology, routing, performance, and security-related events
- OpenEI - Open Energy InformationData in various areas such as buildings, energy, and more.